Rotherham are 2016 Team Champions

2016 Team Championship 1st Division          Bradford GC

The Bradford Golf Club welcomed the 18 clubs contesting the 1st Division, on a nice sunny day, with just enough wind to make the players have to allow for it.  The course was in fine condition, but there were some places in the rough where no wise golfer would venture – but some did!

Those that avoided the penal rough were able to return presentable scores, none more so than Ben Brewster and Steve Brennan of Wheatley, who both carded 68, to help their club to the lunchtime lead on 210.  Rounds in the low 70’s enabled Rotherham to be second on 215, and Middlesbrough’s James Swash produced the best of the morning with a 67 to put his club in third place on 217.  Cookridge Hall, Howley Hall, and Huddersfield followed on 219, 220, and 221 respectively.

The afternoon saw Wheatley slip down the table, with 229, for a total of 439, and 6th place.  Middlesbrough also slipped back, totalling 440 [217, 223], while Cleckheaton & District went in the other direction.  Their second round score of 214, including a fine 67 from Chris Green, gave them a total of 437, which moved them up into 5th place.  Huddersfield also improved their position, to 4th place on 433 [221, 212], and Cookridge Hall also advanced to 3rd, on 432 [219, 213].  Howley Hall, with 67 [Ben Hutchinson] and 68 [Scott Hartley] move up into second spot, but it was the Rotherham team that really sparkled.  Sam Haywood and Matt Evans both carded 65,and with a 73 from Jamie Harrison, produced an afternoon best of 203, giving a total of 418, and making them the 2016 Team Champions.

Sam won the prize for best 36 hole total with 136 [71, 65], while Matt got the prize for the best second round score with his 65.  The best first round prize went to James Swash [Middlesbrough] with his 67.

With the Yorkshire President absent with the Boys team at the national finals, the Immediate Past President, Peter Finnegan made the presentations, and he is seen with the prize-winners in the photos below.

Sam Haywood

James Swash

Matt Evans




Photos courtesy of Cameron Thomson